Eta Ceasefire

Posted on: 3rd November 2011

Andrew George has signed EDM2366. Motion reads: “That this House welcomes the recent declaration by the Basque group Euskadi Ta Askatasuna (ETA) of a permanent and verifiable ceasefire at the Donastia-San Sebastian Peace Conference; further welcomes the commitment todecommission weapons; notes the contribution to this initiative by Kofi Annan, Bertie Ahern, Gro HarlemBruntland,Pierre Joxe, Gerry Adams and Jonathan Powell; recognises the support offered to the declaration by Tony Blair, Jimmy Carter and George Mitchell; and calls on the international community tolend support to securing a permanent and peaceful settlement.”